HomeLocalLocal NewsJWC basketball teams from 1980s to be inducted into...

JWC basketball teams from 1980s to be inducted into Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame

1984 team edited 1
1984 Provincial A Champions
(photo from a 1984 Jewish Post)

We received the following release from The Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame: The Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame is pleased to announce its Class of 2021. 
In the team category four Raiders teams from JWC in the 1980s are to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Those varsity boys’ teams were 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86 & 1988-89, MHSAA Provincial Champions. Click here to watch a short video about those teams and the induction ceremony: JWC Raiders


The official induction was originally scheduled to take place on September 25, 2021 at the Victoria Inn in Winnipeg.

Due to Covid the induction ceremony was postponed for one year. The ceremony is now scheduled to take place on Saturday, Oct. 1. Many members of those JWC winning teams will be in attendance, including several players who will be coming in from out of town. (We are informed that the JWC Raiders teams will be the last to be recognized on Oct. 1, so as to preclude any possibility of conflicting with Shabbes.)

The following was submitted by Andrea Ritter, Director, Marketing and Communications, Gray Academy of Jewish Education back in May 2021:
Gray Academy of Jewish Education is thrilled to congratulate four varsity boys basketball teams from our founding high school, Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate (JWC), who will be inducted into the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame and Museum at a ceremony in Winnipeg on September 25, 2021. Having won more than three championships in six years, the JWC Raiders from 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86 and 1988-89 will all be included in the Hall of Fame Class of 2021.
When they learned the news, many of these legacy players (several of whom are current and past Gray Academy dads) expressed gratitude for the honour and for the important lessons they gained being part of a winning franchise, including teamwork and tenacity.
“It was such a great time in my life and a great honour to be on the ‘83-84 championship team representing the school,” said Morgan Ganetsky (’85), a Winnipeg-based denturist who is also the father of two Gray Academy grads and a current Grade 11 student.
“We all accomplished something very special against all odds. A special group of guys on our ’85-86 team,” said Florida-based attorney Jacob “Coco” Cohen (’86).
“We are very proud that the passion, skill and talent of the legacy players pictured above lives on in our High School today,” said Lori Binder, Gray Academy’s Head of School.

Here are the members of all four championship teams:

1982-83 :
– Steve Kremer
– Kevin Marks
– Noel Myers
– Ari Cohen
– Dan Rand
– Leonard Glass (coach)
– Steve Caplan
– Shlomo Benarroch
– Roth Adelberg
– Kerry Lipkin
– Carnie Rose
– Aaron Benarroch

1983-84 :
– Rob Wolinsky (coach)
– Steve Kremer
– Morgan Ganetsky
– A.J. Cohen
– Teller
– Noel Myers
– Evan Roitenberg
– Harry Greenblat
– Dan Rand
– Shlomo Benarroch
– Aaron Benarroch
– Kerry Lipkin
– Alan Cohen
1985-86 :
– Darryl Jacobson
– Brent Labinsky
– Alan Cohen
– Matty Amihude
– Kerry Lipkin (coach)
– Alan Feldman
– Larry Moser
– Adam Bronstone
– Adam Gunn
– Yamin Muyal
– Gregg Faiman
– Grant Reimer (coach)

 1988-89 :
– Or Rose
– Marshall Posner
– Michael Margolis
– Simon Conway
– Lewis Targownik
– Seth Marks
– Davie Lantz
– Josh Weinstein
– Jeremy Feuer
– Carry Lasuik (coach)
– Randy Lasuik (coach)
– Shaun Filkow
– Jeff Hyman
– Norman Silver
– Shawna Rykiss (manager)

- Advertisement -